Skip to navigation

Get on Board

  1. Community
  2. Development
  3. Events
  4. Get On Board Campaign
  5. Opinion
  6. Transit-Related
The Rapid

Transit-Related Opinion

People who live in and around the Greater Grand Rapids area are blogging and expressing their opinion about pubic transit Here are a few that have caught our attention. We encouraging you to join to dialogue.

  • May 24 2012
    "Urbanized" Screening
    Thursday, May 31, 2012, 6:30pm - $ free

    A documentary about the design of cities, which looks at the issues and strategies behind urban design and features some of the world's foremost architects, planners, policymakers, builders, and thinkers.

    Read full article
  • Dec 8 2010
    Why Conservatives Should Care About Transit
    Public transit and walkable neighborhoods are necessary for the creation of a country where families and communities can flourish." When President Obama nominated Congressman Ray LaHood as his Secretary of Transportation, most media outlets paid attentio
    Read full article
  • Feb 26 2010
    Blueprint America: Moving Detroit Forward (PBS documentary)

    A bloggers take on a PBS documentary on Transit in Detroit called Blueprint America: Moving Detroit Forward. I am not sure what I think about the documentary that ran on PBS Friday night (and repeated early this morning), "Blueprint America: Be

    Read full article
  • Feb 25 2010
    What Do You Want Out Of Public Transit In Grand Rapids By 2030?

    GRAND RAPIDS, MI (MICHIGAN RADIO) - Transit officials in Grand Rapids are in the final stages of developing a new 20-year master plan. And they're asking for more help to narrow down their priorities. Last fall, the bus system in Grand Rapids, c

    Read full article
  • Nov 25 2009
    Terron explains four new rider tools

    Terron explains four new rider tools now available to Rapid web users. Tools include maps through Google Maps, nearest stop locator, real-time bus status and the latest addition, the mobile version of the website. Watch video and learn more about th

    Read full article
  • Nov 12 2009
    William Lind: A Conservative Voice For Public Transportation

    By Elizabeth Press At the 2009 Rail-Volution conference in Boston, Streetfilms was able to grab a few moments with the political conservative, transit advocate, William Lind. Lind aims to provide "liberal transit advocates" the language to

    Read full article
  • Nov 10 2009
    The Rapid and Me
    Public transportation is supposed to be useful, I get that. It's supposed to be convenient and reduce traffic and all that jazz. I know. I know. But you really don't know how well it works until you use it firsthand. Mike Rapin An article from The Rapidi
    Read full article
  • Nov 2 2009
    New rider experiences
    Listen to two new riders, Katie Kimball and Ryan Vandermeer, share their experiences with trying The Rapid buses for the first time. Watch the video!...
    Read full article
  • Oct 29 2009
    Perspectives on Sustainability - Beth Heinen Bell
    Beth Heinen Bell shares her views on sustainability and public transportation from her perspective Watch the video and hear what she has to say!...
    Read full article
  • Aug 12 2009
    My first trip on The Rapid
    It was my first time riding on our bus system. I find myself telling others to take mass transit, yet I had never ridden the Rapid! That had to end... A blog post by Ryan VanderMeer tells of his first experience riding The Rapid. "On a rainy evening a co
    Read full article

View Archive

Designed and created by DDM Marketing & Communications.